Posted by: idm04 | 2014/09/07

September 7th, 2014 – Back to school

Hello there!

It’s been quite a long time since my last post…

First of all, there’s a new UBC blog I’ve been asked to promote – Micro Inquiry – written by a third year UBC Microbiology & Immunology student! :D

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m probably not going to update this blog very often anymore since I’m graduated. Furthermore, a lot of my posts are becoming quite outdated, so I’m considering slowly taking them down. If there are older password protected posts you want access to, just drop me a line. Aaaand if you want to follow other UBC blogs check my blogroll in the sidebar.

You’re probably wondering what I’m doing with my life post-grad. Well, I took the summer off and went on a 6-week backpacking trip to Europe. First arrived in France, then went on to Italy, Austria, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, and Sweden. I mostly stayed in hostels, and I was traveling with a friend by train. Hard to say where my favourite place was. In terms of food, definitely Italy. The pasta and pizza (especially the pizza) is nothing like the typical Italian food around here. The Czech also had awesome and really cheap food. If you have questions about traveling through Europe, feel free to ask me :) this is my first trip though, so I’m by no means an expert of course.

Upon returning, I briefly joined the Richmond Olympic Oval to play basketball/badminton and do a tiny bit of weight training. I also went on a lot of hikes for the first time ever, including the Grouse Grind (4-5 times), Garibaldi Lake (which was gorgeous), Stawamus Chief, Sea to Summit, Eagle Bluffs & Bowen Lookout and Quarry Rock (Deep Cove). Also marathoned some anime: Clannad, Clannad After Story, Psycho-Pass, Suisei no Gargantia, Hanamonogatari, and Shin Sekai Yori.

Anyway, I am currently back on campus — I’ve decided to take some more courses, this time with Computer Science.

.

.

.

I’ve also been taking a look at the first year UBC groups on Facebook, and noticed today that someone shared my files with the Sciences group and seemed to take credit… tsk tsk.

.

.

Anyway, that’s all I have to say for now! I’m pretty sure I was supposed to say other things too, but my memory isn’t serving me well at the moment…

Garibaldi Lake

Garibaldi Lake

/end

Leave a comment. Bloggers like them ;)

Categories

